CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

trunk lid pulldown - fix or mod?

The trunk lid pulldown motor on my '97 seville STS is shot. For now, it's jerry-rigged into a fixed position, but I'm trying to decide what to do about it.

- If I fix it: is it more likely to be the motor ($70-80 part) or the connection? How do I diagnose it?

- Is it feasible to ditch the pulldown altogether, and swap in a conventional latch? If so, what part should I swap in?

Any suggestions appreciated - first forum appearance! ;)

Welcome to Caddyinfo.

I've seen other problems like this on the forum. I think there's a screw you can turn so that the lid closes fully, and it should work like that without putting in a different latch. Hopefully someone will help you diagnose the problem, but if you do decide to purchase a new one, www.rockauto.com has nice prices on parts, and there's a link to save 5% at the bottom of my message here.

WARNING: I'm a total car newbie, don't be surprised if I ask a stupid question! Just trying to learn.

Cheers!

5% discount code at RockAuto.com - click here for your discount!

Rarely does the motor go bad - it is most likely one of the switches or a broken wire.

Most of the time, the upper latch switch goes bad - a $15.00 part at the stealership's parts counter. In some cases, the lower switch goes bad. Other times, there is an open (break) in one of the wires that runs along the deck lid hinge.

If you have an ohm meter, unplug the upper latch switch and check for continuity (zero resistance) in one switch position and zero ohms in the other switch position. If you do not have continuity with the switch in the closed position, the switch is bad.

Kevin
'93 Fleetwood Brougham
'05 Deville
'04 Deville
2013 Silverado Z71

Have you checked the fuse for it to be sure it isn't blown?

Yes, that was the first check. Fuses are all good. Need to get a multimeter so I can check the connections.