Jump to content
CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Scam: pay for a car via google checkout

Recommended Posts

Apparently this is a new type of scam

Read More: http://phoneowner.info/Number.aspx/2062012667

RE: 2007 Cadillac CTS-V LS2 6spd. 405 h.p. - $ 16,700

Mon, March 29, 2010 2:45:03 PM


Prof.Dr.John McCannon <john.mccannon79@msn.com>


The car is still for sale. The asking price is $16,700. It is located in Tatum,TX and the VIN is 1G6DN57UX70101195. The car is registered on my name and the title is clear (no lien). It is in great condition, no dents or scratches. It was always garaged and the regular maintenance was done in time. It wasn't involved in any accident and has never suffered any kind of damage. Also this is a non-smoker car.If you have any questions regarding the car or you want extra photos or the CARFAX report (for free) just let me know! I had a buyer offering $18,000 and I've lost about 2 weeks waiting for him to pay just to find out in the end that his loan wasn't approved. I've lowered the price because I'm in desperate need of cash it's either the car or the house so if you don't need a loan you can have it.

I'm currently signed up for a protection program offered by Google Checkout and I would like to close the deal through them. If you are not aware of this program you should know that it will allow you to test drive and inspect the car before paying me. You will have a 7-day inspection period to decide whether you want to keep the car or not before they release the funds to me.

If you are still interested and have cash just send me your Google id (if you don't have one just go to www.GoogleCheckout.com) and I'll ask them to fill you in with the transaction details.

Look forward hearing from you.

Dr. John McCannon

The way they scam works is that there is no actual car for sale -- the entire setup is designed to get your name & bank account information via the google checkout or other system. Then one would assume identity theft of some sort would follow.


2016 Cadillac ATS-V gray/black

Follow me on: Twitter Instagram Youtube

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Tatum isn't very far from me.

It is just the other side of Tyler.

I should e-mail him and tell him that I will come look at the car and bring cash to pay for it....and see what he says.


In fact I will.

I will e-mail him right now.


Posted Image
Link to comment
Share on other sites

I sent this...

Mr. McCannon,

I would like to come see your car.

I am in Fort worth and can bring cash to pay for it ... if I like it.

When would be a convenient time for viewing the CTS V?

Awaiting your reply...

Posted Image
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Tatum isn't very far from me.

It is just the other side of Tyler.

I should e-mail him and tell him that I will come look at the car and bring cash to pay for it....and see what he says.


In fact I will.

I will e-mail him right now.


What if he replies with a trojan?

The saddest thing in life is wasted talent

Link to comment
Share on other sites

When someone won't take cash for an item they have for sale, that's a warning sign. When someone uses exactly the same ad in a variety of venues for a variety of vehicles across a number of states, that certainly seems wrong.

I think -- although I am not certain -- he was responding to my query about this ad: http://dallas.kijiji.com/cars/mckinney/07-cadillac-cts-v-ls2-6spd-405-h-p-chrome-v-wheels/?ad=2553605 posted 3/26/2010

which was posted showing the car in McKinney, with no price given. The phone number given is Call (972) 548-9082 which is a fax number at an Insurance Agency. The header response shows from an ebay company however, and the erroneous hp and punctuation match the message title.

Dennis Baker CLU

2550 Eldorado Pkwy

McKinney, TX 75070

Phone: 972- 529-6500

Fax: 972- 548-9082

07 cadillac CTS-V LS2 6spd. 405 h.p. chrome v wheels - Please Contact (Mckinney)

* Posted by: Unregistered user | View all ads

* Profile: Active since 03/2010


* Address: Mckinney, TX 75070 (map)

* Date Posted: 03/26/10

* Year: 2007

* Make: Cadillac

* Model: CTS-V

* Mileage: 39,700

* For Sale By: Owner


very clean CTS-V series!! This car is the sweetest 4 door sedan u will ever drive. It is a 07 model with the 6.0 L. V8 that produces 405 hp and to to that off its a 6 spd!! it has always been garage kept and pampered,,...... and when i say pampered i mean it, this car gets waxed atleast once every 3 weeks, always dealer serviced with mobil 1 synthetic oil.

Here was the original ebay ad that the car info came from: http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=140375056478&ih=004&category=43903

It was resold on 2/26 or so and registered in Boerne, Texas which is Northwest of San Antonio.

06/23/2008 TATUM, TX 23,036

Motor Vehicle Dept. TITLE (Title #:09125039609144357)(Lien Reported)

06/01/2009 BOERNE, TX


02/26/2010 BOERNE, TX 37,000

Motor Vehicle Dept. TITLE (Title #:01500340225121505)(Lien Reported)


2016 Cadillac ATS-V gray/black

Follow me on: Twitter Instagram Youtube

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Here was the full header info on the incoming email from this person:

From Prof.Dr.John McCannon Mon Mar 29 19:45:03 2010

X-Apparently-To: (my email address) via; Mon, 29 Mar 2010 12:46:05 -0700 <Inktomi in Sunnydale California

Return-Path: <john.mccannon79@msn.com>

X-YMailISG: CkHuTnsWLDvmQeyQQJlttVCpxwLkvRNfXvHz2hRoWbS52X.STlxjy85yttYww_2CSKn_BYZ3QfVOrJlpMXtHaOJlTcLxppwkGeY2Vref015UJaTHlZGqJoVGSeT8iC_5fV8pqVq.Fivb_IDhAxHkBtVBUwzFEIYM2ZP1NMJAjwobyTpYUp24MgNO8wms5DRzEGPjQxOyUnhtDPfsE_BtoTZU2VnbjC2Q2GcAARL0a8c9SdMIg0c7RKi7VHByh4HjlgQWPnHTZu8zHMrtq.uAxRNZPvz3.pZtHYLgv7pe0jgWtR0AjzmU0ixhpZrlt5pCZb89bkMQgk4A

X-Originating-IP: []

Authentication-Results: mta1008.vzn.mail.ac4.yahoo.com from=; domainkeys=neutral (no sig); from=; dkim=neutral (no sig)

Received: from <<This is in France (EHLO vms172053pub.verizon.net) (

by mta1008.vzn.mail.ac4.yahoo.com with SMTP; Mon, 29 Mar 2010 12:46:05 -0700

MIME-version: 1.0

Content-type: multipart/alternative;


Received: from col0-omc4-s1.col0.hotmail.com ([unknown] [])

by vms172053.mailsrvcs.net

(Sun Java™ System Messaging Server 7u2-7.02 32bit (built Apr 16 2009))

with ESMTP id <0L0200GQQ6WMKQX3@vms172053.mailsrvcs.net> for

(my email address) Mon,

29 Mar 2010 14:46:01 -0500 (CDT)

X-Originating-IP: [] << This is in Microsoft in Bellevue Washington

Received: from COL115-W21 ([]) by col0-omc4-s1.col0.hotmail.com

with Microsoft SMTPSVC(6.0.3790.3959); Mon, 29 Mar 2010 12:45:03 -0700

Message-id: <COL115-W21003E6B26E855F89576B3EB200@phx.gbl>

Return-path: john.mccannon79@msn.com

X-Originating-IP: [] << this is in Florida

From: Prof.Dr.John McCannon <john.mccannon79@msn.com>

To: (my email address)

Subject: RE: 2007 Cadillac CTS-V LS2 6spd. 405 h.p. - $ 16,700

Date: Mon, 29 Mar 2010 19:45:03 +0000

Importance: Normal





X-OriginalArrivalTime: 29 Mar 2010 19:45:03.0198 (UTC)


Content-Length: 3971

The actual person Prof. Dr. John McCannon is a teacher in Canada:

82. Prof. Dr. John McCannon (Assistant Professor of History, Department of History, University of Saskatchewan), Heroic Retrospection: Idealizations of the Archaic in Fin-de-Siècle Russian Painting, 16 January 2005


I don't think he travels the USA selling cars for 1/2 price.


2016 Cadillac ATS-V gray/black

Follow me on: Twitter Instagram Youtube

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I just did a search on google checkout scams and found this


Pre-1995 - DTC codes OBD1  >>

1996 and newer - DTC codes OBD2 >> https://www.obd-codes.com/trouble_codes/gm/obd_codes.htm

How to check for codes Caddyinfo How To Technical Archive >> http://www.caddyinfo.com/wordpress/cadillac-how-to-faq/

Cadillac History & Specifications Year by Year  http://www.motorera.com/cadillac/index.htm

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 months later...

I would report the entire e-mail to Spam Cop:

These guys report the email to the abuse teams at MSN and Google, and the IP address to the SPAM blocking engines that your ISP, Northon, McAfee, your email client, and most organizations use in their SPAM filters.

This one sounds common enough so that it may have its own page in Snopes.

-- Click Here for CaddyInfo page on "How To" Read Your OBD Codes
-- Click Here for my personal page to download my OBD code list as an Excel file, plus other Cadillac data
-- See my CaddyInfo car blogs: 2011 CTS-V, 1997 ETC
Yes, I was Jims_97_ETC before I changed cars.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
  • Create New...