CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Last GM big block rolls off the line.

lothos

http://www.buffalonews.com/home/story/899075.html

It was the last of the “big block” V-8 engines made by the plant, a legacy dating to 1958 and a local connection under the hood of some renowned GM cars.

The end of the L18 on Friday also puts 150 hourly workers on layoff, bringing to 298 the total number of workers on layoff from the Tonawanda plant.

WARNING: I'm a total car newbie, don't be surprised if I ask a stupid question! Just trying to learn.

Cheers!

5% discount code at RockAuto.com - click here for your discount!

Yeah... I read that yesterday.

I have had a bunch of the Big Blocks, down theu the years.

I have always had a soft spot for them.

I loved the huge amounts of tire smoking torque they could make. :D:D:D:D

A little turbocharged, 4 cylinder, sewing machine motor, can never equal what a 427 or 454 was.

A lot of people will miss them...me included.

Posted Image

A little turbocharged, 4 cylinder, sewing machine motor, can never equal what a 427 or 454 was.

A little engine can never equal a real motor. It doesn't even matter if it has the same torque or horsepower, can't compare the caracteristics between an engine and a 4-banger.

Hopefully a true Cadillac V8 will return in the future!

Where does this leave the northstar? Is that considered a big block?

WARNING: I'm a total car newbie, don't be surprised if I ask a stupid question! Just trying to learn.

Cheers!

5% discount code at RockAuto.com - click here for your discount!

The Northstar is only 280 ci.

It is a small engine...compared to any of the big blocks.

The big blocks started in 1958 with the 348...and progressed up to 495 cubic inches. (8.1 liter)

Thru the years there was the 348, 366, 396, 402. 409, 427, 454, and the 495.

After a half century...they are no more.

The good thing is, there are several aftermarket makers of the big blocks.