CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Studding northstar block

gm_fan

I just bought a 1998 STS and guess what?? Your good, the car could not pass its co2 sniffer test. Has 63K miles and I assume it has head bolt issues after reading on this site. I am a professional mechanic and do transmission work for a living and need to know the best way to stud the block for a sure seal repair? I am open to suggestions , or advise if studding the block is not the best way to approach this problem..I also assume that dropping the whole cradle,with engine and trans out the bottom is the easy way to get to everything, since I have a shop with 2 post lifts available..I am a new member and would like some advise on how to make a permanent repair, as I plan to keep this car a good while..Thanks in advance..gm_fan

Yes I done the test and it has co2 in the coolant..when you run the car hard it pushes water out and then overheats from being low on coolant, noticable when you idle for any extended period.also have alternator problems, coolant related I am sure..I am perfectly willing to drop the cradle for engine access and do the correct repairs, Just want to know what is the most correct procedure for a permanent fix. I really like the car and my wife will be driving it..My machine shop is owned by a friend of mine and he told me they had repaired some of the blocks by putting a short stud in the top part of the block,1/2 inch in diameter, but did not screw in into the bottom part of the block like the original.I am not real sure of this type of repair,,thanks gm_fan

The only studs I have heard about that really "WORK" for a long time fix, is the Northstar Performance stud kit.

Look a little further down the list of topics till you see Northstar Performance.

Jake, at Northstar Performance is one of the sponsors of this site.

He can be reached at

Phone: 519-875-2970

Fax: 877-858-6971

Email: info@northstarperformance.com

Hope this helps you.

Posted Image