CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

First time Caddy Owner, WON'T pass smog!

SDLo2

This site is awesome, and for not having this car for more than two weeks, I have learned a lot about these cars. I am not experienced at all, but at least the info acquired here points me in the right directions.

I recently purchased a 97 De Ville with 71,000 miles from a private seller, and everything seemed awesome for the first couple of days - dream come true. Then, I started to notice a leak from the front of the car which seems to be the radiator. Dexcool on the ground, and coolant level low sign coming up. Never seemed to overheat at all really, I always kept an eye on the coolant temp. Stayed between 196 - 212 range, and it is hot here. Took it to go get smogged, and it didn't pass. He said there were too many hydrocarbons so he failed it. When he put a load on it on the dyno, he said it started to overheat and dumped coolant on the ground too!

I pulled the codes which were:

PCM P0300 (misfire) P1520 P1527

MSM B2110 B2119 B0856 - (all seats problems which need to be fixed)

Don't know if they have ever been cleared before.

I don't have a lot of money to be timeserting, or pulling heads and fixing them. What can I do? Feel like I am up a creek with no paddle!!!

This site is awesome, and for not having this car for more than two weeks, I have learned a lot about these cars. I am not experienced at all, but at least the info acquired here points me in the right directions.