CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Cast Iron shortage?

lothos

I've been meaning to exchange my new jack for a couple weeks now, the right front wheel binds up and squeaks. Called four Sears stores in the area, no one has it. The last store I called told me there was a cast iron shortage, no info other than that.

Hopefully it doesn't last long, or drive up the price of parts.

WARNING: I'm a total car newbie, don't be surprised if I ask a stupid question! Just trying to learn.

Cheers!

5% discount code at RockAuto.com - click here for your discount!

http://www.abifoundry.com/Items%20Archives/oct2004.pdf

http://foundry-source.com/

:bsmeter:

Note the 2004 date on the first link, 24-hour shipping on the second. I did a hypersearch (dogpile) on "cast iron shortage" and nothing beyond the first link turned up.

CTS-V_LateralGs_6-2018_tiny.jpg
-- Click Here for CaddyInfo page on "How To" Read Your OBD Codes
-- Click Here for my personal page to download my OBD code list as an Excel file, plus other Cadillac data
-- See my CaddyInfo car blogs: 2011 CTS-V, 1997 ETC
Yes, I was Jims_97_ETC before I changed cars.

Jacks strike me as something with a long shelf life that seem less likely to be effected by short term prices.

Bruce

2023 Cadillac CT4-V Blackwing

Follow me on: Twitter Instagram Youtube

Yeah, I did a search on google and didn't find anything regarding a shortage, either. My warranty is good until May of 2009, and the Sears employees I talked with told me they weren't showing it as being discontinued or anything. But they didn't show any on order, and couldn't special order one for me, either. Sears.com doesn't list my jack either. I'm not sure what they'll give me for a warranty replacement if that jack isn't available anymore.

WARNING: I'm a total car newbie, don't be surprised if I ask a stupid question! Just trying to learn.

Cheers!