CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Missing, running bad!

epricedright

Drove around today, ran great. Then went into Best Buy and came out 20 minutes later, started it up, and it noticed right away the miss. It feels like it's running on only 6 or 7 cylinders. Runs really bad! No codes though. Driving home going up a hill was really taxing on the motor...bogs down with drastic reduction in power and the miss more pronounced. Punching it, you really feel the miss. Then I was driving along at about 45 or so and heard pinging/detonation(?) when it shifted in OD. Runs rough at idle as well in PN & D, idle was jumping between 575 to 675 RPM's. Giving it gas in P/N misses bad. Starts up fine. What do you suppose is going on? Still has the original plugs and wires, approx 91K. It was really cold today (coincidence?) and it's been kept in a fairly warm garage, so maybe she caught a cold? :rolleyes:

Anyhow, where should I start trouble shooting? First time I've had this problem. I'm no expert, but it seems to be electrical/ignition related...bad plug/wire? What about the coil? I guess it could be fuel related, but it feels more like an electrical miss. Strange how it was running perfect earlier today, then come out 20 mintes later and BAM! Strange too how it can run so bad, but throws no codes. I'm really dreading working on it as it's gonna be cold all this week. The plugs and wires look like a nightmare to access too, especially the rears. :blink: Thanks in advance for any help/advice!

Eliminate the FPR first by checking for gas at the vacuum side. Could there have been some water in the gas? Condensation from inside the tank?
Ok, I'll check the FPR tomorrow. Water in the gas? No idea. Gassed up at Speedway. Ran out about 5 gallond before today.

Since you are due for plugs & wires anyway, that might be a good place to start.