CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

bad shift solenoid throw a code???

I think my 95 eldorado has a bad b shift solenoid cause its stuck in 2nd and if it was bad I need to know where it would throw a dtc or not. Also there is a shift solenoid a and b right? I called the oreillys here in town and they said there was only one, a "1-2-3-4" solenoid. Trans ia a 4T80E vin code Y. Thanks. ps. on a quick update. I called oreillys trans tech line and the guy said they had one part number for the shift solenoids so hes figuring the a and b shift solenoids are the same thing. Any truth to this?

:welcomesmiley:

When the shift solenoids on my 1995 STS went out, it threw a code. Sometimes it doesn't.

There IS an A and B shift solenoid, replace both.

WARNING: I'm a total car newbie, don't be surprised if I ask a stupid question! Just trying to learn.

Cheers!

5% discount code at RockAuto.com - click here for your discount!

Oxymoron >>> oreillys trans tech line

Pre-1995 - DTC codes OBD1  >>

1996 and newer - DTC codes OBD2 >> https://www.obd-codes.com/trouble_codes/gm/obd_codes.htm

How to check for codes Caddyinfo How To Technical Archive >> http://www.caddyinfo.com/wordpress/cadillac-how-to-faq/

Cadillac History & Specifications Year by Year  http://www.motorera.com/cadillac/index.htm

I just changed mine last weekend in an '00 Deville so I'm not sure if they are exactly the same

1-2 & 3-4 is GM part number 24207662 $19.40

2-3 is GM part number 24207384 $20.48