CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Car stalled out going down the highway

Well I guess the problems begin!

I was driving down the road at about 40mph and the engine shuts down, it was as if the key had been turned off. I got it stopped and put in park and it fired right back up and ran perfectly. Then on my way home it did it again sitting at a stop sign. I had checked the codes earlier in the day concerning an unrelated problem and found no codes, but I checked it again anyway and still no codes.

My searches found several topics talking about the Crankshaft Position Sensor, where its located, and how to replace it. I'm no mechanic, but it seems do-able.

I guess I just need someone to verify my diagnosis before I order the parts. I will order the AC Delco parts instead of making the usual trip to Autozone.

Also, do I run the risk of causing and damage by continuing to drive the car until the parts come in?

2001 Deville, Sterling Silver exterior with Dark Gray leather, 93k miles

Although I think you are correct in suspecting the Crankshaft position sensors, you should run the codes to verify that that is your problem. That is the only way we can verify your suspicions from this distance.

Never underestimate the amount of a persons greed.

I ordered the new AC Delco Crankshaft Position Sensors from Rockauto.com today. Very reasonable, $103 shipped to my door.

Crankshaft positions sensors are common to be faulty on 2001/2002 year models. Easy job, no need to to a relearn. They will relearn by them selves but it will only take a bit longer.