CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Engine Swaps Or Mods For 150 More Hp Cadillac Deville

Hi, I'm a true noob and I happen to have a 2001 Cadillac Deville Base Model with a 4.6 Liter 275 hp Northstar V8 in it. Me being me, I love speed and that type of power that pulls you back with that raspy V8 engine sound racing through revs. I want to get atleast 150 more hp out of this engine or see if I can swap it for a 4.4 Liter 443 hp Northstar V8 from the Quick Xlr-V. Please give me advise to turn my quick Cadillac Deville into a Fast beast to be in the ranks of a fast mustang or something like that.

Edited by DevilleGuy7

Hi and :welcomesmiley:.   I am glad you are enjoying your 2001 Deville.  There are some things such as intake, exhaust, header that can be additive.  The LC3 from the XLR-V or STS-V was a longitudinal mount versis the transverse FWD mount in the Deville so would be a very detailed project.  Nitrous oxide would be a quick power adder but has some cautions, and is not legal everywhere.  

I would start with measuring your current 0-60 and or quartermile time in the Deville accurately and repetitively.  That will give you a good baseline for determining what improvement you get from various mods.  I generally have found that a large improvement is in learning how to launch the Cadillac to minimize wheelspin helps.

Bruce

2023 Cadillac CT4-V Blackwing

Follow me on: Twitter Instagram Youtube

We used to have one of the designer/engineers here from GM that frequented this forum who was on the original Northstar design team.

He used to say something that I liked "All of the low hanging fruit has been picked" in terms of improving the performance of the stock Northstar.