CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

HAPPY CAMPER

voicepro

...first, thanks to all on these forums. Great information to be had for this newbie owner

of an older model (a '98 DeVille d'Elegance).

...and I'm very pleased to be able to read and understand the OBD codes, thanks to

that on-board computer and some interpretation by other members.

...I recently took a trip to Texas and back to Memphis -- about 1,200 miles, round-trip --

without a hitch and got 24.7 MPG on the road...and would have done better, but for

all those little Texas towns where you have to slow to 30 or 35 every few miles. And

I'm getting 18.7 around town right now. Even burning Premium, I'm liking this a lot

and am impressed, since I wasn't expecting that kind of mileage.

...two days ago the car started idling rough and the Service Engine light came on

and started blinking. I ran the codes...and this morning I replaced all the ignition

coils. Took me an hour...but I'm a beginner and was being very careful not to lose

track of an ignition wire's position.

...test drive was great! I got back all the zip this car is supposed to have, I have a

smooth idle at 650 RPM or thereabouts, and found myself doing 70 in a 55 zone

without even realizing it. Good thing the local constabulary was having lunch at

the time...!

...so hats off to this Northstar engine, the on-board diagnostics, and to the good

information provided so willingly by members of this forum.

Always wonderful to see a post with good news. I love to travel with my cadillacs, and I love to laugh at the priuses as I roar my v8 flying by them, Its funny as I picture them blowing off the road like a piece of paper lol.

The best to you and your Cadillac. Now out with the pics :yupi3ti:

GM FAN FOREVER

Nice, clean, luxury= fine automobile

...one other thought...purely subjective...about Cadillac designs.

...my favorite would be that old box-back style...a Seville, I think it was. When I