CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

01 DHS Starter Noise - engaged too long?

Hope someone has some history on the 2001 DHS Starters?

I just bought a used 01 DHS yesterday. Northstar V8 with 135 000KMs.

Car runs beatiful - BUT - when starting the car - the starter consitently makes

a loud noise (like when engaging the starter when the engine is already running?).

Is their a trend with starter issues on this car - where they bind or stay engaged to long? TSB's??

Any insight would be appreciated - I am new to the Caddy world.

DO NOT keep trying to start it before inspecting the starter DRIVE and FLYWHEEL, you do not want to DAMAGE the flywheel, the engine will need to come out if you do.

Pull the intake manifold and inspect the starter drive and flywheel, hopefully all you will need is the new starter, if you need one, www.rockauto.com ships....

Pre-1995 - DTC codes OBD1  >>

1996 and newer - DTC codes OBD2 >> https://www.obd-codes.com/trouble_codes/gm/obd_codes.htm

How to check for codes Caddyinfo How To Technical Archive >> http://www.caddyinfo.com/wordpress/cadillac-how-to-faq/

Cadillac History & Specifications Year by Year  http://www.motorera.com/cadillac/index.htm

My guess would be a failed pinion return spring. Not a common failure, but sounds like you are in for a new starter. The good news is it is not a hard job.

not a hard job at all, but I must say under normal circumstances these starters are extremely reliable. Welcome to the forum

GM FAN FOREVER

Nice, clean, luxury= fine automobile

It could be the starter drive itself. Remove the intake and starter and take it to a local rebuilder. They will repair the starter for much less than a POS chain store starter.

The starters on these engines are very reliable and failures are rare.

Kevin
'93 Fleetwood Brougham
'05 Deville
'04 Deville
2013 Silverado Z71