CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Thumping sound from engine compartment when roads are wet

lothos

Hi guys!

I'm hearing a rubbery sounding thumping noise from the front end or engine compartment when the roads are wet. It's not metallic sounding, and not a very loud or deep sound. More of a rubbery softer sounding noise. It doesn't seem to follow engine speed, it's more of a random *thump* pause, *thump thump* pause. It seems to happen at higher speeds, and only when the roads are wet. It will make the noise maybe five times, and then stop, and I won't hear it again until the next time it rains.

I've put on a new serpentine belt and it's snug. When I do oil changes I lube the ball joints and try to check things out and I haven't seen anything amiss, but I'm still a newbie. I'm not sure what this could be, any suggestions?

WARNING: I'm a total car newbie, don't be surprised if I ask a stupid question! Just trying to learn.

Cheers!

5% discount code at RockAuto.com - click here for your discount!

From the description, it sounds like you're hearing the a/c compressor cycling. Next time it's raining and you start hearing the noise, hit the "a/c" or "off" button on the HVAC control to disable the compressor. If you no longer hear the thump, you found your culprit! Now to the significance of the thumping, I'm not sure. I'd guess its just the a/c compressor clutch slipping when it engages.

If your engine-bay setup is the same as mine, your compressor is the lowest (or close to it!) point of the serp belt's routing. While a ton of water shouldn't be getting up and into the engine bay, I'd be willing to bet some makes it onto the belt and gets slung around on a really wet day.

Also make sure all the wheel-well liners and tar-paper guards are in place on the front end. If they're missing, more water will splash into the engine compartment than necessary.

Hope that helps!

B)

-Scott