CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Battery

tonyny

Ok guys new problem. Car won't start (2001 STS) Got a boost from the neighbor and went to Autozone which is nearby and they tested it for free and say my battery is dead. I guessing it could be the original battery since I never replaced it. Autozone has Optima batteries and Durolast. Are these any good? They want $170 for the Optima, which the guys claims is better than the Durolast.

Any info appreciated.

Tony

PS Does the caddy NOT give you any warnings that the battery is dying? When I look at the charging display it shows 14.4 volts!

"Capital punishment means never having to say, "You again"?

Optima's are really nice batteries, lots of car audio enthusiasts use them for running subwoofers. I put a new battery in mine and I just used a regular battery, it was around maybe 40 bucks.

WARNING: I'm a total car newbie, don't be surprised if I ask a stupid question! Just trying to learn.

Cheers!

5% discount code at RockAuto.com - click here for your discount!

Batteries done give any warnings like they did years ago. They seem to drop dead like a sudden and massive heart attack. Not sure about Optima's, but if you go with a conventional battery you must get a 78 series battery with special vents that will fit the vent system because the battery is under the seat. These batteries are not cheap. Just replaced one on my daughters car for $140.

Optima's are really nice batteries, lots of car audio enthusiasts use them for running subwoofers. I put a new battery in mine and I just used a regular battery, it was around maybe 40 bucks.

Wow 40 bucks. AZ wants $170!

Optimas are about $170 I have my first optima in mine now. I understand they handle deep cycles better than conventional batteries. so far it has worked out well. one thing to keep in mind. they require a 10 amp battery charger. I only have a 5 amp. when I charge a dead optima on a 5 amp charger, it overheats, and trips the charges thermal fuse.