CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

The Northstar has a very effective knock sensor that will retard the timing if it detects a spark knock. Premium is recommended for peak performance. I ran my '97 on regular for 3 years and never noticed any difference in mileage or performance. If you're gonna race it, use premium. If not regular will work just fine.

I use mid grade in my 95 STS. I either go to the places that give you mid grade for the 87 octane price, or else I use coupons for mid grade and it ends up being the same price or cheaper depending on what I have for coupons.

I've used 87 octane in the 95 STS with no problems whatsoever.

WARNING: I'm a total car newbie, don't be surprised if I ask a stupid question! Just trying to learn.

Cheers!

5% discount code at RockAuto.com - click here for your discount!

I use the mid grade, I find my car runs like a pig on regular. The knock sensor retards the timing in order to stop knocking, retarded timing results in less power. When the engine is hot I can get a momentary knock when I pull away from a light, then it stops when I use regular.

Pre-1995 - DTC codes OBD1  >>

1996 and newer - DTC codes OBD2 >> https://www.obd-codes.com/trouble_codes/gm/obd_codes.htm

How to check for codes Caddyinfo How To Technical Archive >> http://www.caddyinfo.com/wordpress/cadillac-how-to-faq/

Cadillac History & Specifications Year by Year  http://www.motorera.com/cadillac/index.htm

I realize that all cars are different and what works in one, may or may NOT work well in another.

Rangers Cadillac runs great on Regular... mine don't. Body by Fisher uses mid-grade ok.

This is my second 2006 DTS. Owners manual says Premium is RECOMMENDED.

I have right at 52,000 miles on it and had almost 40,000 on the first one when it burned in my garage fire.

During the three years and about 90,000 miles, I tried running regular in them several times. This particular car DOES NOT LIKE regular. :D