CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

HVAC blows while turned Off?

lothos

I have had my HVAC turned off completely since it warmed up here. I have it set for 69 degrees, and it's right around 70 outside. Three times now I've had air blowing gently out of the vents while it's been turned off. When it happened today my black car was sitting outside in the sun.

I am low on refrigerant and need it topped off.

I remember reading in the owner's manual that it can blow air when you start the car and that is normal, but what about this? Is this normal behavior? It tends to happen after I drive a couple blocks. Turning the HVAC on and off again makes it stop.

WARNING: I'm a total car newbie, don't be surprised if I ask a stupid question! Just trying to learn.

Cheers!

5% discount code at RockAuto.com - click here for your discount!

There is a setting called AFTER BLOW that is utilized to stop mildue and bad odors from building up in the vent system. Check that out, not sure if that is what you are experiencing. Does it eventually shut off?

Pre-1995 - DTC codes OBD1  >>

1996 and newer - DTC codes OBD2 >> https://www.obd-codes.com/trouble_codes/gm/obd_codes.htm

How to check for codes Caddyinfo How To Technical Archive >> http://www.caddyinfo.com/wordpress/cadillac-how-to-faq/

Cadillac History & Specifications Year by Year  http://www.motorera.com/cadillac/index.htm

I'm not sure if it eventually turns off or not, it kind of took me by surprise when it happened. I turned the HVAC on and off and it stopped. I only let it blow out for a minute or two.

Can I find info about the after blow in my FSM?

WARNING: I'm a total car newbie, don't be surprised if I ask a stupid question! Just trying to learn.

Cheers!