CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Changing mufflers on my 01 eldo.

rockfangd

Hi all. I may be going a little far out here but I figured I would see what you guys think.

My eldo feels like it is missing something. The throaty v8 exhaust is not the same.

I have never thought about changing anything exhaust on a cadillac before because I have always been pleased.

I love a car that gives more the harder you give it.

When I take off in my 97, (stock everything) it sounds wonderful, just begging for more. It reminds me of a sleeper.

My 01 just does not have that rush. I hope I am not the only one that fells this way lol.

Anyway I am looking at

Flowmaster 942051.

I want something that gives me the throaty roar but not being nuisance loud.

Not concerned about more performance. want to weld on and reuse my tips.

I have a flowmaster on my truck and love it. It sounds louder all the time though.

Give me your opinions guys. I am all ears (or in this case ears)

Please note. I am not one to modify anything on caddys but this one was beaten before I bought it so it wont hurt it anymore.

My 97 Seville is bone stock everything, even down to the hand phone in the console, and I have no intent in changing or modifying anything on it.

GM FAN FOREVER

Nice, clean, luxury= fine automobile

Make sure that your CAT is OK. If it's just lightly clogged, the car will be quieter and it will take the edge off your performance but you won't see a problem with throttle response or gas mileage with just mild clogging. With free-flow mufflers, you can hear the cat go to restriction mode only at the very top end of the RPM range. If the stock CAT (or equivalent, which in aftermarket parts, will be labeled "high flow") is not at all clogged, you will not hear the exhaust note with a hiss component until right at the top of the RPM range, e.g. around 6,000 RPM. If you hear it at a lower RPM, it's partly clogged.