CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

'97 Cadillac Deville A/C recharge advice

I've frequently used caddyinfo for reference as this is my second Cadi, but this is my first time posting.

I went back to a local shop that had replaced my radiator coolant tank a year ago to get a couple tires, an oil change and an A/C recharge. When I arrived to pick it up, I was surprised to see they were still working on it. They tell me they pumped in 2lbs of refridgerant but the compressor wouldn't draw it. So they were going to suck out the refridgerant and not charge me for the labor or refridgerant but they wanted me to bring it back for them to try and figure it out.

Full disclosure, I'm not a mechanic but before I took it in I researched, mostly on here how to do it myself and found out quickly it involved diagnostics so I gave up - this was before I realized I could view the diagnositcs through the console without a tool.

As I was paying for my tires and oil I asked him if he had cleared the ACM code as I had read was necessary for a recharge to work if it was throwing the 'Compressor off' warning. He said they didn't but it should have been drawing it since it was full. I didn't have the technical knowledge to press the issue, and honestly I just want my A/C to work as I work out of my car at this moment.

They want me to bring it back in so they can hook it up to a diagnostic machine, I already pulled the codes from the dash, is it necessary to hook it up to a machine? Is the compressor not drawing the refridgerant to be expected if the code wasn't cleared? If its filled back up with refridgerant and then the code is cleared, shouldn't the compressor then draw it?

The codes I pulled were:

ACM B1247 Current (Very Low A/C Refridgerant Warning)

IPC B2710 History -

IPC B2781 Current - These all seem key related.

RFA B2560 Current -

Sorry if its innappropriate to ask mechanic related advice, I didn't see a guidelines thread. Thanks in advance for the help.

definately correct.