CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

'93 Allante Throttle Position Sensor throwing codes

How easy is it to change a Throttle Position Sensor on a 1993 Cadillac Allante? Daughters boy friend says his 1993 Cadillac Allante convertable is throwing codes for TPS and O2 sensors, not sure how he knows. I think he took it to an Autozone or other parts place. He's not a mechanic and I worked on military aircraft for a living, and my own '80-90's VW's, '80-90's Toyotas and '90's Hondas. Just have no experience with GMC/Cadillac.

My assumption is that it won't be a plug and play fix, correct?

Does not look terrible; I think it is part 25 in this diagram

920103GM03-266.JPG

http://parts.nalleygmc.com/showAssembly.aspx?ukey_product=2845940&ukey_assembly=378094&ukey_make=1023&ukey_model=14458&ukey_driveline=0&ukey_trimlevel=0&modelYear=1993

17106682 SENSOR KIT. Computer Control Sensors. Multi Port Fuel Injection Throttle Position.

SENSOR KIT,THROT POSN(ACDelco #213-896). Required: 01For: E 4.6-9(L37),4.6Y(LD8) (1993-1993) (1993 - 1993). For: K 4.6-9(L37) (1993-1993) (1993 - ...

Cost is around $96

Could be an indication that the throttle body is dirty and needs to be cleaned out, but may also need a new sensor.

Bruce

2023 Cadillac CT4-V Blackwing

Follow me on: Twitter Instagram Youtube

Does not look terrible; I think it is part 25 in this diagram

920103GM03-266.JPG

http://parts.nalleygmc.com/showAssembly.aspx?ukey_product=2845940&ukey_assembly=378094&ukey_make=1023&ukey_model=14458&ukey_driveline=0&ukey_trimlevel=0&modelYear=1993

17106682 SENSOR KIT. Computer Control Sensors. Multi Port Fuel Injection Throttle Position.

SENSOR KIT,THROT POSN(ACDelco #213-896). Required: 01For: E 4.6-9(L37),4.6Y(LD8) (1993-1993) (1993 - 1993). For: K 4.6-9(L37) (1993-1993) (1993 - ...

Cost is around $96

Could be an indication that the throttle body is dirty and needs to be cleaned out, but may also need a new sensor.