CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

A/C Seal Leak

Ranger

Well, I guess it's my turn. I have been noticing lately that my A/C is cool but not cold. No low refrigerant warning......yet. Today I noticed there is oil on the frame below the clutch. It is apparent that it is coming from the center of the clutch and being slung off. This would indicate to me that the seal is leaking. The manual says the the seal can be replaced without removing the compressor from the car. This all brings up several questions. Anyone done this on the car? There doesn't appear to be too much room down there. Also, among all the tools I have, I do not have any compressor tools. I have never worked on a compressor before. I am not adverse to buying tools (if you saw my garage and basement workshop you'd understand. "Tim The Toolman" has nothing on me). As I see it I at very least need a clutch removal tool and a seal and/or bearing tool. Anything else? By the time I buy the tools, seal and maybe bearings does it make any sense to do this or would I be better off just getting a new compressor and doing an R & R. Also if I should go that route, what about the clutch? Does a new compressor come with a clutch? Should I replace it as a precausion or just the clutch bearing? I am leaning towards the R & R but would appreciate suggestions and advice from those who have been there before.

Based on your description, it sounds like the compressor shaft seal is leaking. The shaft seal can be replaced while the compressor is on the car - remove the front wheel and splash guard and you'll be looking at the compressor clutch.

The replacement shaft seal is about $25. You will need the shaft seal remover/installer, seal protector (protects the seal during installation) and the puller and installer to remove and install the clutch.

Many Autozones rent the clutch puller/installers. The shaft seal tools are not that expensive at NAPA.