CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

1979 - 1985 Eldorados

lothos

Looking at a couple of Eldorados in this year range, and doing a little research on them.

I've found two cars, one is a 1983 Eldorado that needs wheel hubs, it has had the engine and transmission replaced but I'm not sure what was put in. It's been for sale for quite a while and I bet I could get a deal on it. The other is a southern car, no rust, 1979 Eldorado, 107k miles with a gas 5.7L engine that needs a paint job.

Are these cars easier to work on than a newer northstar?

I've heard the 5.7L 350 1979 engines are pretty bulletproof, is that true?

What about the infamous ht4100? If there's a rebuilt ht4100 in that 83, will it be a decent engine after being rebuilt?

Are replacement vinyl tops available? Or do they generally hold up pretty well with some care?

WARNING: I'm a total car newbie, don't be surprised if I ask a stupid question! Just trying to learn.

Cheers!

5% discount code at RockAuto.com - click here for your discount!

The Olds 350 that was in the '79 Eldorado is a decent engine. Check to make sure you can still buy a coolant temperature sensor as they fail and cause all sorts of driveability issues.

You can have a new vinyl top installed - check at an auto trim shop. Keep in mind that a good paint job and vinyl top are going to cost some bucks.

If the '83 has a Goodwrench shortblock, find out when it was installed. The GM Goodwrench shortblocks incorporated all the improved gasketing technologies that were incorporated in later variants of the engine such as the 4.5 and 4.9 engine. If it is a GM Goodwrench engine that was installed in '85 or later, it should be bulletproof. Do your homework, get the engine serial number and check it out for yourself.

That said, the '79-'85 Eldorados were very nice looking cars in my opinion.

Kevin
'93 Fleetwood Brougham
'05 Deville
'04 Deville
2013 Silverado Z71