CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

96 sts r&r engine????

rig_pig

there is a guy here in town who is selling a 96 sts with 200000kms on it for $1000, the catch is the head gaskets ar gone on it, he says it runs and drives, but only for about 15 minutes then shuts off after getting to hot.

he has a short block outta a 98 sts, and im pretty mechanically inclined (as in i have r&red transmissions, and engine on other vehicles bit never a caddy) and has 90xxxkms on it and supposedly "checked and oked by mechanic"

My question is, i dont mind doing the work at all, but is it worth it? and will the heads off a 96 northstar be able to transfer onto a 98 short block? Also will the heads need to be machined or will the new head gaskets be ok with them? what else would i be looking at? or should i be looking at when i go to look at it weither or not if its worth my time.

car is fully loaded with sunroof and all, brand new paint a few months ago only because he wanted to, hes a bodyman by trade.

If i do, do the swap, what else should i do while im in there (sorta like preventative maintenance for the future being that the car has 200000kms on it. He did say that when the car is running it runs amazing. Just like i say preventative maintenance.

Why do you want to put the 96 heads on a 98 Northstar?, to get the correct accessory bolt holes?

When you remove the heads on the 98, you will need to time-sert the 20 head bolt holes before putting the heads back on, otherwise you risk a head gasket breach in short order, see www.timesert.com, or www.northstarperformance.com

Heads dont normally need to be machined, but its prudent to check them for warpage

I am unable to answer the question, Will the 96 heads fit the 98 block, maybe someone knows that answer

Pre-1995 - DTC codes OBD1  >>

1996 and newer - DTC codes OBD2 >> https://www.obd-codes.com/trouble_codes/gm/obd_codes.htm