CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Missing V-8

:( I have a '91 Cadillac Seville with a 4.9. Does any one have any idea why the cylinders would start missing after about 5-10 minutes of running on the track? It does not do this while it is sitting idling. You can rev the motor and it still doesn't do it. It only seems to do this when its in gear. The motor dosen't get hot either 195-205 (manual fan). It is run at about 4500- 5000 rpm in 2nd gear. I've had good luck with these motors 4.5 and 4.9. I have had one other motor do this same thing and never could find out what it was (4.5). I ran that motor for a whole year (32 races). If you can help thanks.

I have no experience with the 4.9, but that could be a plug wire issue or some other type of short ... does it just happen while cornering or accelerating perhaps??

Any other specifics to the behavior??

Just curious, but what kind of racing? Just heard about some 90 something caddy's running dirt track just this week.

We would love to see some pics.

Check the coils.

CTS-V_LateralGs_6-2018_tiny.jpg
-- Click Here for CaddyInfo page on "How To" Read Your OBD Codes
-- Click Here for my personal page to download my OBD code list as an Excel file, plus other Cadillac data
-- See my CaddyInfo car blogs: 2011 CTS-V, 1997 ETC
Yes, I was Jims_97_ETC before I changed cars.

Check the coils.