CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Twilight Sentinel

Scotty

I have the delay set to very short (all the way left), that my lights stay on probably 2 minutes or so, very unusual, they used to turn out very quickly maybe in 10 seconds... Could the cold weather be causing this, will this system set a code?

Hi Scotty,

I have no actual knowledge of the Twilight Sentinel mechanisim. I have always assumed that there was a slidewire type of rheostat that was controlled by the increase/decrease knob. It would seem to me that the wire has broken and the system has defaulted to the max time delay. Can you still turn the delay feature off? I'm just guessing, but I would think that you have a switch replacement in your future.

In the service manual for 1994, it shows a twlight sentinel/DLR module that is depicted as mounting on the rear of the headlight switch.

OT

I grew up in the Fingerlakes Region of NY. 20 miles north of Ithaca an the western shore of Cayuga Lake. Great place in the spring/summer/fall, but you paid for it in the winter months. Where is Smithtown located?

Good luck with your switch.

Britt

Britt

Hi Scotty,

I have no actual knowledge of the Twilight Sentinel mechanisim. I have always assumed that there was a slidewire type of rheostat that was controlled by the increase/decrease knob. It would seem to me that the wire has broken and the system has defaulted to the max time delay. Can you still turn the delay feature off? I'm just guessing, but I would think that you have a switch replacement in your future.

In the service manual for 1994, it shows a twlight sentinel/DLR module that is depicted as mounting on the rear of the headlight switch.

OT

I grew up in the Fingerlakes Region of NY. 20 miles north of Ithaca an the western shore of Cayuga Lake. Great place in the spring/summer/fall, but you paid for it in the winter months. Where is Smithtown located?

Britt