CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

why I do my own work

airmike

My trunk quit working the day I polished it. I guess it didn't like being pampered :angry2: ..If the trunk wont work then of course the top doesn't either since it stows in there. I bought a tech II a while back just for this type thing. I spent several hours with it hooked up trying to diagnose this problem. I am an untrained rookie with this tool. I decided to take a look in the cubby hole where the pump is located since the trunk problems seem to have appeared soon after the top repair, which included a new pump. I saw a wad of wiring in there that floored me. Why none of it was replaced properly, I don't know. I grabbed a handful of the mess and pulled it out of the well and noticed a light come on or something that got my attention, not sure what exactly, but decided to try the trunk again. Yep hooray it worked. Don't know how to feel about that. Ecstatic that it works now, but quite the opposite feeling that I have that mess in the first place. I don't know which wire made it start working, so now I may get to deal with this again. I will give those connectors a lot of attention, hoping I can find the culprit. As the title states, THIS is one of the reasons I do my own work. I screw up plenty, but I don't get the pay to be a pro, and I REPAIR my screw ups. I would not approve if the car was just some ol junker taken to joe blow down the street, but this isn't some ol junker and that was the dealer.

Bruce I posted this on another forum, but I would like a few pictures from the well where the pump is, if you get a chance. I have 3 connectors that have the push pins that hold the wires in place, but don't know where they attach.

Not sure if you can tell what a mess this is, but these wires are just shoved in the hole. IMG_20150823_2032224361_zpscgafeg1x.jpg

:angry:

Sometimes a dealer is not the best place to maintain an old car.