CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

power seat control

klepard

I must begin by admitting that I am not a Cadillac owner. Rather I am a retired hobbyist who likes to upgrade older vehicles with more modern amenities. I am currently fabricating seat frames to put 2000 STS front power seats in an old restored and customized 1982 Chevy Suburban that belongs to my son. I am finished with the passenger seat and everything works as expected. However, I cannot get the driver's side seat to work. I am told that it is because the driver's seat has a module that needs to communicate with a module in the door due to the memory component of the seat. By bypassing the control switch (8 position) I can make the seat go through all of its functions. I just can't get it work through the switch. My question is....is there a compatible power switch seat (8 position) made for a non-memory driver's side switch....or does it not exist? I wonder if anyone out there knows of a non memory control unit that may be interchangeable from another model that would work for me. Sorry to invade your forum as a non Cadillac owner, but I have spent hours trying to get this seat to work with no success to date.

I know nothing about the wiring of 2000 STS seats...

But just off the top of my head..

If you look under both seats...

Would it be possible to remove or bypass the module and wire the underside of the seat to be just like the other one??

If so.. that would eliminate the memory function and the requirement for communication with the rest of the car.

Posted Image

If I recall you may need to get a seat harness out of a non memory seat. I dont know if you can bypass the memory module with your current harness.