CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Good performance tire in stock size???

wake

Ok, it's time for new tires for the ETC... One problem I'm having is trying to find a good stiff sidewalled tire in the stock 225/60/16 size... Currently I'm running GY GAs on the front and GY American Eagle (Walmart model) on the rear... The AEs seem to be stiffer than the GAs so I might try those on the front if I don't find something better...

Although I've been driving a caddy now for about 3 years, I still can't slowdown enough around to corners to avoid rolling the sidewalls under... Both my fronts look like they've been curbed... :lol:

Jumping between my Caddy and my Corvette the roles are reversing... I'm going slower around the corners in the Vette and too fast around the corners in the Caddy... :lol:

So you hard drivers out there, enlighten me...

try Dunlop SP5000 Z -rated 225/60 16...I've used them and I can testify to their cornering and high performance ability. my problem with them is tread life. they only last one year.

try tire rack see if they have it in yokahama i love those tires on my vette

I put a set of Yokohama AVID Touring tires on my 93 Deville (215-65/15)

between that and the new Struts and Springs (Monroe) I could really take turns that made the wife REALLY nervous !!! :o

Click here for the tires @ Tirerack.com

BTW: The stock tires for it were 205-70/15

I use Michelin Pilot XGT Z4 225/60 on my 93 STS.

I was very happy with my first set, which lasted 65,000 miles. I just put on a new set yesterday, my current price was $125 ea. + mount and balance at Big O.

The STS is a moderately heavy car with strong road handling characteristics, so I wanted a tire to compliment it. The tire needed to perform and look good.