CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Is AWD a residual value Faux Pas?

I have been noticing that the least expensive used vehicles for the 2010 Cadillac CTS Premium are often all wheel drive examples. This seems counter-intuitive because the AWD is more expensive new. Could it be that the AWD is less desirable in the used car market due to the lower fuel economy and perhaps perceived higher maintenance?

Bruce

2023 Cadillac CT4-V Blackwing

Follow me on: Twitter Instagram Youtube

I have been noticing that the least expensive used vehicles for the 2010 Cadillac CTS Premium are often all wheel drive examples. This seems counter-intuitive because the AWD is more expensive new.

Could it be that the AWD is less desirable in the used car market due to the lower fuel economy and perhaps perceived higher maintenance?

I would certainly think twice and maybe three times, about buying an AWD used... for exactly the reasons you stated.

I would be afraid of the higher maint cost if it was not under warranty... and the lower fuel mileage would also play a part in my decision making process.

Posted Image

The interesting thing would be with 2 otherwise equivalent fully loaded 2010 Cadillac CTS Premium Models, but one was RWD and one was AWD, and the AWD was $2K LESS expensive, which would you pick? The AWDs appear to run around $2K-3K less than the RWD for the posting I have seen.

Bruce

In the climate we have here...I see no advantage to an AWD vehicle at all.

Personally, I wouldn't buy one for several reasons.

More complexity.

Added maint cost.

Less fuel mileage.

And after it is no longer under warranty...

Too much of a chance that REALLY EXPENSIVE parts will have to fixed.

I will stick with 2wd... either front drive or rear drive...but not both.

Posted Image