CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

96 STS "lifters tapping" - used car on craigslist

lothos

96 CADI STS

LIFTERS TAPPING - LISTING AS A PARTS CAR

NO BATTERY

INTERIOR/EXTERIOR GOOD CONDITION

Asking $500

Do the lifters and valves go bad on these engines? I thought that was really rare and it's normally carbon buildup? Would an oil change and bottle of marvel mystery oil clear that up?

Or would something like this be a money pit? The valve lifters are roughly 40 bucks on rockauto.com, how hard is that to replace?

WARNING: I'm a total car newbie, don't be surprised if I ask a stupid question! Just trying to learn.

Cheers!

5% discount code at RockAuto.com - click here for your discount!

Could be low oil pressure, damaged cam lobs or lifters. Send the seller a note and ask him if he has seen the oil light at idle.

If this is a parts car, with no battery, I would not mess with it, certainly there is mechanical damage

Pre-1995 - DTC codes OBD1  >>

1996 and newer - DTC codes OBD2 >> https://www.obd-codes.com/trouble_codes/gm/obd_codes.htm

How to check for codes Caddyinfo How To Technical Archive >> http://www.caddyinfo.com/wordpress/cadillac-how-to-faq/

Cadillac History & Specifications Year by Year  http://www.motorera.com/cadillac/index.htm

Could be low oil pressure, damaged cam lobs or lifters. Send the seller a note and ask him if he has seen the oil light at idle.

If this is a parts car, with no battery, I would not mess with it, certainly there is mechanical damage

that certainly makes sense, thanks BBF

WARNING: I'm a total car newbie, don't be surprised if I ask a stupid question! Just trying to learn.

Cheers!