CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Water leak in cabin

Phillip

I took the back seat out of my 96 STS today and when I lifted the carpet I found the water. The underlay is like a sponge so I didn't notice it before but I was able to squeeze a couple of liters out of it without even going to the front seat. I have a sun roof. Has anyone experienced a leaky sunroof? Where else should I look?

I took the back seat out of my 96 STS today and when I lifted the carpet I found the water. The underlay is like a sponge so I didn't notice it before but I was able to squeeze a couple of liters out of it without even going to the front seat. I have a sun roof. Has anyone experienced a leaky sunroof? Where else should I look?

There's a drain for the sunroof, sometimes they get plugged up.

This thread might help: http://caddyinfo.ipbhost.com/lofiversion/index.php/t90.html

Someone that's experienced this issue might chime in, too.

WARNING: I'm a total car newbie, don't be surprised if I ask a stupid question! Just trying to learn.

Cheers!

5% discount code at RockAuto.com - click here for your discount!

Thanks for the link! I searched the archives, but didn't find this one. I will try the weedwacker cord to see if that helps. The car is in realy good condition with almost no rust, so this seems to be the most likely culprit.

If it is the rear drain, make sure that it continues through the floor to the outside and has not been pulled up to drain in the cabin.

I've done it from the TOP. Once you "Think" it's cleared out, see if it will drain. I've used a

"Knee Draining" (big) Syringe, to inject water into the drain opening...

rek