CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

95 SLS runs bad

93shocarguy

Hello all. I'm new here, but am on my 3rd Cadillac. I bought a 95 SLS a week or so ago. The car ran TERRIBLE and I knew I had some work cut out for me. I'm by no means a mechanic, but thought I could tackle the basic stuff I felt this car needed. I put in new plugs and wires and the car is running a lot better, but it's still not right. It idles rough in gear and the service engine light comes on. The Northstar engine cover was in the trunk and when I put it on the other day, the car backfired. I got to looking and every time I mess with anything near the injectors on the passenger side of the car, this happens. The service engine light isn't always on. It takes a while of driving the car to come on. I took it to Autozone to have them read the code and it wouldn't come on while sitting and running in their parking lot. The car does not seem to miss out at all when reved up, and has pretty good top end power. Doesn't have much when just starting out. I cleaned the throttle body, but that hasn't made any difference. Is there a way for me to find out what the service engine code is without the light being on? Any help would be great. I like the car, but don't have a ton of money to spend, so the more I can do myself, the better off I am.

Get the codes yourself and post them here. Here's how:

http://www.caddyinfo.com/readingcodes.html

Once you've done it once, you will be amazed at how easy it is. I check them while I'm driving just to break up the monotony, or while waiting at a long light.

The 1995 model year has some OBD I codes and some OBD II codes. If you have the OBD II system, the codes will be things like

PCM P0300 HISTORY