CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

OT: cooling question

joeb

the people here seem pretty sharp on car issues. i have a grand prix GTP that runs hot during stop and go driving. i have a 180 degree thermostat but the temp gauge indicates 210 during stop and go driving. on the highway the temp gauge drops way down. i have an aftermarket chip and the fans run almost all the time. coolant level is fine. turning off the a/c makes no difference. does this look like a WP issue or perhaps plugged radiator? maybe i have a funky temp gauge or sender? i did have a 195 thermo earlier this spring and it ran hot than. the lower temp thermo made no difference.

the people here seem pretty sharp on car issues. i have a grand prix GTP that runs hot during stop and go driving. i have a 180 degree thermostat but the temp gauge indicates 210 during stop and go driving. on the highway the temp gauge drops way down. i have an aftermarket chip and the fans run almost all the time. coolant level is fine. turning off the a/c makes no difference. does this look like a WP issue or perhaps plugged radiator? maybe i have a funky temp gauge or sender? i did have a 195 thermo earlier this spring and it ran hot than. the lower temp thermo made no difference.

Is this the 3100 or 3400 engine? What year is this car? As Ranger stated 210 in stop and go is not alarming...

Pre-1995 - DTC codes OBD1  >>

1996 and newer - DTC codes OBD2 >> https://www.obd-codes.com/trouble_codes/gm/obd_codes.htm

How to check for codes Caddyinfo How To Technical Archive >> http://www.caddyinfo.com/wordpress/cadillac-how-to-faq/

Cadillac History & Specifications Year by Year  http://www.motorera.com/cadillac/index.htm