CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Starting Car

adallak

Here is how I have been starting my car for more than two years, I had to replace a failed actuator inside the steering column right in a parking lot. ;) Later I fooled the antitheft with a resistor and disabled the steering wheel lock. Sooo...now I do not need any key. Just push the wire which goes all the way down to the ignition switch and start the car. Pull it back and it will shut down. I used to call my car a "tank" now I have one more reason to treat it as a military vehicle. :D

post-3-1120962745_thumb.jpg

The saddest thing in life is wasted talent

Funny key setup ...aren't you afraid of theft, or do you hope to encourage a lazy thief?

I had a similar system on my 1978 Datsun F10 ... the ignition tumblers collapsed around my key, so it couldn't be removed. I just covered the shiny part of the key in black tape so it wasn't noticeable.

You definitely get used to never reaching for a keychain ... years ahead of keyless ignitions and bluetooth technologies :D:D

1989 FWD Fleetwood, Silver

1995 STS Crimson Pearl on Black leather

1997 STS Diamond White

1999 STS Crimson Pearl

2001 STS Silver

2003 STS, Crimson Pearl

Funny key setup ...aren't you afraid of theft, or do you hope to encourage a lazy thief?

I had a similar system on my 1978 Datsun F10 ... the ignition tumblers collapsed around my key, so it couldn't be removed. I just covered the shiny part of the key in black tape so it wasn't noticeable.

You definitely get used to never reaching for a keychain ... years ahead of keyless ignitions and bluetooth technologies :D:D

:D There is nothing more permanent than a temporary fix...

There is nothing more permanent than a temporary fix...

Truer words was never spoke. ;)

photo-36.jpg

Happiness is owning a Cadillac with no codes.

Don't you get hassled by the cops???