CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

battery voltage Low?

bobnsue2

Hi,

My 91 STS 4.9 has this bad surging when first started and along with swapping out most things, except the injectors (which test good) I noticed the voltage is a bit low.

Once it warms up it runs great.

The voltage is around 13.4, 13.2, as low as 12.8. Occasionally it gets up to 13.9.

I had both the battery and alternator up to the NAPA store and both tested fine. The alternator is putting out 137 amps (140 amp alternator) and 14.7 volts on the test bench..

What the heck is going on?

I wonder if the lowish voltage could be the reason it runs so poorly?

I see 12 volt systems run at 14.7 while running even if the battery won't hold up overnight.

I wonder if the computer could be causing this.

BTW, lights, A/C and radio are off.

Thanks for any thoughts,

Bob B

Im no expert, but I believe that as long as your voltage is above 12V you are fine. In older cars, the battery was only used for starting and once the engine was running, the alternator was used to power all of your accesories. I dont know if newer cars are the same but I imagine they are. As long as your alternator is putting out above 12V ( I would check it under load, AC, radio, defrosters etc on) it should charge the battery fine. If the voltage is constantly jumping around, and both the alternator & battery have tested good, I would check all of the electrical connections at the battery, (clean them real good with baking soda & water, then dry & cover in dielectric grease) and also check any other grounds. Bad connections & grounds are notorious for intermittent electrical problems..

bobnsue2,

You may have bad ground on the engine block.by the starter. Remove and clean the stud by the starter. Install new star washers on both sides of the stud to engine block.