CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Checking out PCV system.

adallak

I read somewhere that a properly working PCV system should cause vacuum felt by your palm if you remove oil cap and plug the filler neck with your palm. I tried and could not notice any vacuum while the engine was idling. How about you , gents?

The PCV valve was replaced by a dealer three years ago and despite it rattled I replaced it with a new one. Also a dried out original PCV elbow was replaced by me. This is Chevy LT1 engine.

The saddest thing in life is wasted talent

I have zero experience with the LT1.

Consider the possibilty that your PVC vacuum source is only active "off idle". Easy enough to check with your palm or a vacuum gauge.

Jim

Drive your car.

Use your cell phone.

CHOOSE ONE !

Consider the possibilty that your PVC vacuum source is only active "off idle". Easy enough to check with your palm or a vacuum gauge.

Thanks Jim. I thought it was true for any engine. As for idle, is not the vacuum highest at idle? I cannot see how it would work off idle because there is no any kind of switch related to PCV valve.

Thanks Jim. I thought it was true for any engine. As for idle, is not the vacuum highest at idle? I cannot see how it would work off idle because there is no any kind of switch related to PCV valve.

Elaborate switching is not required. All that is needed would be a PCV vacuum orifice in the throttle body that is not exposed to engine vacuum until the throttle valve is moved off idle.

Purely mechanical.

Jim

Drive your car.

Use your cell phone.

CHOOSE ONE !

Elaborate switching is not required. All that is needed would be a PCV vacuum orifice in the throttle body that is not exposed to engine vacuum until the throttle valve is moved off idle.

Purely mechanical.

That is a possibility. Will check it out off idle if I find an assistant.