CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

P110 and No Start - 1995 STS

lothos

Hey Guys,

I have a 95 STS. Leaving work today I got a BATTERY NO CHARGE message. Was able to drive the car home. P110 HISTORY is showing as a code. (Generator L Terminal or something)

Car won't start now.

Can I just jump start the car to move it? Battery is less than a year old, Bosch brand.

How difficult is it to replace the alternator?

WARNING: I'm a total car newbie, don't be surprised if I ask a stupid question! Just trying to learn.

Cheers!

5% discount code at RockAuto.com - click here for your discount!

The car started. I turned the keys a couple of times, nothing. Went inside.

Came back out, turned key, nothing. Turned key 3 times in a row and it started the third time.

Now the car starts.

Alternator going out?

ACDelco alternator is recommended for a replacement, right?

WARNING: I'm a total car newbie, don't be surprised if I ask a stupid question! Just trying to learn.

Cheers!

Sounds almost like a bad ignition switch. If it were the alternator, causing the battery not being charged, it wouldn't have finally started after the third attempt. I wouldn't totally eliminate the battery either; an internal short (or open) inside the battery might produce your symptoms. Even new batteries can break.

If you get the car started once again, and have a volt meter, you should see if you are getting a charging voltage (at the battery); a charging voltage should be somewhere between 13.5 and 15 volts. Good luck.

Chuck

'19 CT6, '04 Bravada........but still lusting for that '69 Z-28

Sounds almost like a bad ignition switch. If it were the alternator, causing the battery not being charged, it wouldn't have finally started after the third attempt. I wouldn't totally eliminate the battery either; an internal short (or open) inside the battery might produce your symptoms. Even new batteries can break.