CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

I am looking at purchasing an orginal owner 1999 DeVille D' Elegance. It has 107000 miles on it. What should I be concerned about? I am new to this style Caddy. I have owned a 78 Sedan Deville and and 87 Fleetwood, but nothing like this. The owner has recently replaced the Power steering pump, altenator, water pump, brake pads, rear rotors and the Vehcile speed sensor. My last vehicle a 97 Buick Park Avenue died at 208,000 miles. Will this vehicle make it this long fairly trouble free? It is in excellent shape. Has spent winters in Floriday and been garaged. I am real handy and have restored some older vehicles. I just need an idea of what I am getting into, what I should look for the asking price is in the high 3000 range. I am new here, but appreciate any help or pointers

Find out why the water pump was replaced. Have the cooling system tested for combustion gasses. If it fails the test, it is a $500.00 car since it will require head gasket replacement which is a lot of work and about $800.00 in parts if you do the work yourself. Probably $3500.00 at a stealership to do the same work and then you don't know if they install the inserts correctly... You can have any radiator shop test the cooling system for combustion gasses or buy the kit at Napa for $50.00.

If the car passes the combustion gas test, it sounds like a really nice car.

Kevin
'93 Fleetwood Brougham
'05 Deville
'04 Deville
2013 Silverado Z71