CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

98 Seville SLS white/blue smoke on startup and accel

yower

Hello to all ..I am a noob, however, I have been religously reading this forum exclusivley since 2001. Thats when I bought my baby. 1998 Seville SLS. I have driven it all over this country and love it.

I thank you ahead of time for reading and possible suggestions. I will start by saying, I am no mechanic, and I rountinely get robbed by having to pay for the repairs.

BACKGROUND:

My Seville SLS has 156,000 miles on it. I had the head gasket replaced less than 20,000 miles ago. After it was replaced, not even 6 months after, I noticed some smoke every now and again on acceleration. Took it back to Crest Cadillac in Plano, Texas and they said I need another head gasket (another $4800), I said BS that they won't fix their own crappy work. They didn't budge after speaking to mgr, owner, etc. I parked it for months. After reading something on here, (forget what it was) I checked oil pan, smelled exhaust, checked coolant, etc etc. and no problems. So I just started driving it again after months of sitting. ANYWAY, that was a year and half ago and I have never had any issues I would consider head problems. Having lived through one of them, I should be able to spot it.

CURRENT ISSUE:

Now I have moved to Los Angeles, drove the caddy, and all of a sudden I have some smoke on startup and when I accel from a light etc. It doesn't smoke while riding on highway etc. And it doesn't smoke on all accels from stop, most, but not all. I do notice a slight "knock and ping" if I mash pedal on takeoff when it smokes, the kind of "knock and ping" from bad gas sort of sound. That is very intermittent and do not hear it while driving, idling, etc.