CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Oxygen sensors on a 1995 STS

lothos

The O2 sensor by the firewall has two metal heater core lines right up against it. Is there a trick to getting the O2 sensor socket down there to take it out and replace it?

Also, how many O2 sensors does my car have? I've been searching the forum for a couple hours now and can't really find an absolute answer.

Thanks for the help!

WARNING: I'm a total car newbie, don't be surprised if I ask a stupid question! Just trying to learn.

Cheers!

5% discount code at RockAuto.com - click here for your discount!

Not so much a trick, as just a real pain to remove it. The 1993 manual wants you to lower the engine cradle to get at it better. It helped me some, but it was extremely tight, and hard to get at.

Once you can get get the special socket on it, run the car for about a minute, the try to loosen it from the warm manifold.

Be very careful when installing the new one, it can be easy to cross thread it, or break the wire connection.

There is also an O2 sensor on the front exhaust manifold.

-George

Drive'em like you own 'em. - ....................04 DTS............................

DTS_Signature.jpg

There is also an O2 sensor on the front exhaust manifold.

-George

Can you point me in the right direction to find that one? I haven't seen it yet.

Also, this is what I ordered from RockAuto:

ACDELCO Part # AFS73 {#25312178}

SENSOR,HTD OXY(POSN 1) IN EXH MANIFOLD/CROSSOVER

Is that the one for the rear by the firewall?

I'm not seeing an ACDelco O2 sensor for the front, but there's a Denso:

DENSO Part # 2344006

Front

Should I order that one for the front, or are they interchangable and the ACDelco one will also work for the front?

Thanks for your help!

WARNING: I'm a total car newbie, don't be surprised if I ask a stupid question! Just trying to learn.

Cheers!

Oxygen Sensor Location and Description

Bank 1 Sensor 1 - right bank (rear) manifold

Bank 1 Sensor 2 - pre-cat