CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Whining noise from under the hood

adallak

I have been hearing for a few months a whine coming from the engine compartment only when the car moves. It changes as RPM change and very well audible while driving slowly around the city. I do not think it is related to accessories since I do not hear anything while idling. I believe there are spinning parts in the transmission (turbine, pump) which could be involved... Anybody with similar experience? The ATF and filter were recently replaced. The old fluid was slightly discolored and smelled a little bit burnt. The wine was there before ATF change.

The saddest thing in life is wasted talent

I could be a lot of things, but what about the A/C pulley bearing. When the bearing in my Eldorado went bad it progressively became worse and difficult to pinpoint.

I could be a lot of things, but what about the A/C pulley bearing. When the bearing in my Eldorado went bad it progressively became worse and difficult to pinpoint.

I removed the belt and turnd all the pulleys manually, they were ok...

Have you ruled out the power steering pump? Or checked the ps fluid? They do get whiney on occasion......

Yes - the trans can do this too, but I'd start there.

The power stearing pump is one of suspects. The fluid is fine. I would change it, but it seams the previous owner put ATF in it and I do not know what to do - replace with ATF or with powersteering fluid. Is it ok if they mix?

I've always used ATF for power steering fluid - going back to my old gas station days in the 70's. No idea what Cadillac thinks about it or if things have changed, but it never caused me a problem. Of course now there's the rack, etc to worry about..............

Safe harbor at this point would probably be to replace whatever you can get out with Power Steering fluid.