CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Hub/Bearing, Balljoint, Brake Replacement

CaddyChris

Well,

I'm no mechanic, by all means, but I know when brakes begin to make contact with the rotar. Well, this happened to me over the weekend and luckily I was home. I jacked up the front end and took both front wheels off. Sure enough both sides needed replacement and both actually just started to hit the rotar. The brakes were definately sticking as the outer pads were completely gone but the inner pads had a 1/4" left on them. My dad had brake "take-offs" upstairs. He helped me do the brakes, we cleaned everything and used the right grease to make sure they would slide easily...

Anyway, I knew the car needed front end work, put the wheels back on and my Dad and I were looking for problems. Well, this was very interesting, the RF balljoint was bad and so was the hub and bearing. The wheel had almost 1/2" of play in it. The RF side was much worse...

I shook the wheel with the car up in the air and I almost checked to see if the lugnuts were tight. The wheel must of had 1" of play all around. I mean, this hub and bearing was shot. It was really scary. My Dad's like, " I wouldnt even drive it". Consequently, I was driving the car around all weekend with people inside, heavy people. Haha, it's just lucky that we caught it before the inevitable happened.

Anyways, got ACDELCO parts extremely cheap...15% over cost, 2 balljoints, 2 hub/bearing assemblies....310$...dealer price 800$. I could not believe that someone would get charged that much plus labor! JEEZ what an expensive job.