CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Engineering the STS-V

Bruce Nunnally

Old article, but it is good to see that car guys are making the new Cadillacs. I think people forget that the engineers working on the cars are trying to make excellent cars. If I were GM/Cadillac I would release more articles and info about the people and the tools used to design & develop the new cars.

A General Motors ride and handling engineer by trade (whose latest work includes the surprisingly quick Saturn Ion Red Line and the much-anticipated Cadillac STS-V), Stielow isn't just a fan of grip. Sharp minded and experienced street machine fans will remember that he was the first guy to utilize exotic GTP-style cylinder heads on a musclecar. Later Stielow variations included more cost effective combinations, but never before has he gone done the boosted road. Hanging around fellow Road Apples car club member and Detroit speed guru John Meaney (who's twin-turbo C4 Corvette is the stuff of legend) convinced him he had to build something similar. Stielow's dynamite intercooler packaging (created by Detroit's Wheel to Wheel) is a sign of how difficult building one of these combinations can be if you're hooked on design and engineering like this guy.

http://popularhotrodding.com/features/0501_phr_stielow/

Bruce

2023 Cadillac CT4-V Blackwing

Follow me on: Twitter Instagram Youtube

I had a friend that owned a MK VIII and I was commenting on the acceleration the car had. He said get the Northstar. I said "Northstar" ... hell, that's that thing in the sky we navigate with when out at sea when the gyro, GPS and SINS are down. He said yea ... you know ... a Cadillac. I said dude, you gotta be #&%ttin' me. Oh no he says, those things move. About that time we were coming up on a DeVille and I could see the "32 valve Northstar" emblem and I pointed at it and said ... you mean these things. He said yep.

Anyway, I few months later I tried one out ... and liked it!