CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Oil

jah

Hi All it's me again,

I have a 1994 STS this is my first northstar. I've always had performance cars. I've been racing cars and rebuilding engines since the 80's. My engines have been 400 ci or better. My questions is i've always been running 20w50 and Lucus oil in my engines during the summer and 10w30 and lucus oil in the winter because of the heat in the summer and the cold in the winter. I never had a problem with this combination. I 've alway's put almost 200,000.00 miles on my engines before rebuilding, and even when i rebuilt the engines they still looked like brand new. Did the rebuild because of the milage. My question is because this is my first time with a northstar an i doing it harm by running 20w50 and lucus oil in the summer? one thing i have noticed since switching to 20w50 it is running 5-degrees cooler? :)

I'm not a 100%, but the Northstar engine should run with 10W30 all the time.

OEM when it comes to these babys.

"Cadillac, it's not a car, it's an obsession"

-W.Kingdon

I think what he's asking is if it will hurt it or not.. And I don't think it will, although I would still use 10w-30 all year around and probaly some lucas too. Lucas makes good stuff. What Guru is saying is that it's not necessary to use it but I think you might get a few more miles out of it using some lucas , although it will certainly make 200k without it. The coolant is the big thing with the all aluminum engines. I think the NS has pretty tight clearances (except around the oil rings.heh...darn oil consumption) so 20w50 isn't necessary at all. Older , larger, less 'tight' engines 20w50 would be just fine. I don't think it will hurt anything at all running it in NS but it's not necessary and it might get you a little worse gas mileage.

I'd can't see any reason to use 20W50, or any reason to spend the money on the Lucas products.