CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Mark VII VS STS

I think he may mean the MK 8, VIII. VII was a piece of crap. The VIII LSC was a nice car, and would give the STS a run for it's money.

I believe you're correct on that model distinction. The Lincoln owner at work that I embarassed a few times has one of those latest model jobs. Although, I remember easily outrunning the older one too. B)

'93 STS.. opened, dropped, wide...fast.

user posted image

"VII was a piece of crap" ... BullSh........t.

Mk VII LSC was and still is a very attractive car (my opinion). I am not refering at all to the mk VIII, I have no experience with that.

OK, my previous '89 Mk VII LSC was not a match for my '95 etc in terms of hp, and downright speed, etc. but the VII was quite a bit older. However, at the time it was somewhat entertaining in that the loud pedal was connected to a 5 liter HO Mustang gt motor (220 hp). There was not, prior to the northstar caddy, any cadillac since the late 50's that I would be bragging about owing in terms of its performance or comparing to any other marque. Name a 1989 Cadillac that would out run a MK VI LSC, or had any pretention of performance at all?

Remember that the MK Vii was an earlier generation product. The Northstar came out after the Mk VII was near it's end (maybe after). I think that the MK VII LSC was a very beautiful design and still is. I remember in the mid 80's that the editor of Automobile magazine at the time, David E Davis, had a MK VII LSC in his driveway and a Mercedes 500 SEC (this is from memory, so forgive me if a detail is not exactly correct). Anyway, he felt that the MK VII was a match and had a hard time deciding which one to drive! A Cadillac at the time would have been laughable.