CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Bleeding Brakes

JasonA

When I get my new pads, I'd like to bleed or flush the entire braking system. I don't know if it's ever been done, which means it probably hasn't. I've seen some references here from folks who have done their own. There are a few references in the manual about doing it, and even about letting the ABS module flush it for you?

Can you all describe how you've bled the brakes on your Cadillacs? Also please let me know what parts I'll need. I've seen bleed kits, one-man bleed kits, etc. I've never done a brake bleed before, and I'd like some tips from you all, the experienced, so I don't screw something up! :lol:

Also, I assume I need to fill it up with DOT3 or 4 fluid? I've seen DOT 5 on the shelves, but I recall from Bobynski and others that the existing brake lines are validated for DOT3 or 4 only, and newer types may cause damage to the system? Is that accurate?

Thanks in advance!

Jason(2001 STS, White Diamond)

"When you turn your car on...does it return the favor?"

Some brake fluid comentary at the link below. About 3/4 of the way down the page is some important information about DOT 3,4,& 5 brake fluids.

http://www.csaa.com/global/articledetail/0...57C2026,00.html

-George

Drive'em like you own 'em. - ....................04 DTS............................

DTS_Signature.jpg

When I get my new pads, I'd like to bleed or flush the entire braking system.  I don't know if it's ever been done, which means it probably hasn't.  I've seen some references here from folks who have done their own.  There are a few references in the manual about doing it, and even about letting the ABS module flush it for you?

Can you all describe how you've bled the brakes on your Cadillacs?  Also please let me know what parts I'll need.  I've seen bleed kits, one-man bleed kits, etc.  I've never done a brake bleed before, and I'd like some tips from you all, the experienced, so I don't screw something up!  :lol: