CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Piston Ring Replacement Continued

Brad

Well, the time has come. Just got home from taking my car in for the infamous piston ring replacement. Talked with the Service Director about time-serting and was told, "if it needs it, it will get it." Not real reassuring, but lets hope for the best.

Should have the car back in a week - fingers crossed that all goes well.

Now, I am an amateur when it comes to working on cars - oil changes, brakes, changing the occasional alternator, that kind of thing. Can anyone outline this procedure for me other than they take out the engine and rip it apart and change the piston rings?

Would appreciate any info on the matter.

Thanks

Brad

----------------------------

1999 Deville Concours [sOLD]

Blk/Blk w/gold package

Now, I am an amateur when it comes to working on cars - oil changes, brakes, changing the occasional alternator, that kind of thing.  Can anyone outline this procedure for me other than they take out the engine and rip it apart and change the piston rings?

Well, you actually did a pretty good job of describing what the job entails. But, I can go into a little bit more detail. I drop the engine/transmission/subframe out of the car. From there, I get all the wiring harnesses out of the way and positioned back by the transmission end. Then, remove enough stuff to get the engine disconnected from the transmission. This usually involves the front mount, a/c compressor, alternator, ps pump...etc. Engine get put on an engine stand. Water crossover and water pump and the flexplate are removed before the engine goes on the stand. Then it's a simple matter of removing the front cover, valve covers, timing chains, cylinder heads, oil pan, and lower case half. Remove pistons, install new rings and connecting rod bearings, and slide her all back together. It's really like a big jigsaw puzzle with some technical knowledge thrown in along the way.

Ian