CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Power seats/horn not working

Good morning from wintry Ma. I have a 99 Deville which was in the family since new. My wife's father inherited it after his mom passed in 02. It has 43,000 original miles and I've been driving it on and off for the past 5 yrs or so as a backup car. Just recently both power seats and the horn are not working. I read the owners manual and located the circuit breaker/maxi fuse under the hood on the drivers side. I took it out, it was/is very hot and tested it with an ohmmeter and a test light across a car battery, it was good. when i took the fuse out the first time and reconnected it i saw a spark. thinking it just needed a better contact, i started the car and the seats moved again and the horn worked. Then nothing again. Is the horn really on the same circuit as the seats? Could something be stuck causing the fuse to get hot? i would love to fix this myself as our business is shut down for the winter here and $ is tight. Hate to bring it to the local caddy dealer. thanks for reading this, love to hear some suggestions. Doug

The horn and seats are on the same 30a circuit breaker - nothing else on it.

There is a horn relay in the relay center.

I have the electrical schematic but can't figure out how to post it.

OK now were getting somewhere. thanks for the responses so far. yes on my 99 the horn and seat are on the same 30A circuit breaker/fuse. Eric should i turn my attention to the horn relay? Is this something do you know if a backyard mechanic can tackle? there must be a load of some kind going directly to the fuse holder as i mentioned B4 that i did see a spark when I put the fuse back in the first time. thanks Doug

could be a stuck horn relay.

Also may be a pinched connection under one of the seats. I have seen some with the harnesses run inproperly under the seat instead of through the track.