CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Help needed!

voices204

I am new to this so please bear with me. I have a 1996 Eldorado with just over 100,000 miles. I am told the head gaskets are blown and the est. is $4,500 to fix it. I have a friend at the local Chevy dealer who will sell me a new motor for $4,600 so there is a no brainer there! I have looked on Ebay for a used motor and have been told that any 4.6 Northstar motor is the same it's just the difference in the coil packs and computer that make the engine what it is. I know there were two versions of the Northstar a 275 HP and a 300 HP version. Mine is the 275 HP version. I love the car and am not too worried about the cost to fix it but I would like to know if i could upgrade to a newer version or am I just going to have to use a 275 HP motor that is coded for my car. I have located a motor from a 2002 ETC which comes with the coil packs and computer. Could I use this motor? I would request some help because when I asked the local Cadillac dealer repair manager he told me to buy the motor from Cadillac and have them install it total cost $9,500. Thanks and have a nice day!