CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Cassette Adapter Will Not Work

Matt

Has any one run into this before? I want to use my portable MP3 device with the cassette adapter so I can plug the wire into the device and run it through the car stereo. Every time I put the adapter into the cassette it spits it back out. Is there a way to make the adapter stay in the cassette player? Thanks.

Has any one run into this before? I want to use my portable MP3 device with the cassette adapter so I can plug the wire into the device and run it through the car stereo. Every time I put the adapter into the cassette it spits it back out. Is there a way to make the adapter stay in the cassette player? Thanks.

I had this happen last week, once I started playing music it stayed in.. try that

Thanks Scotty, I will try that lunch time. I have another question for ya but uder my AC post. Please check it out when you have time.

The cassette/CD adapters are not compatible with the '92-'95 radios.

Kevin
'93 Fleetwood Brougham
'05 Deville
'04 Deville
2013 Silverado Z71

I do the same thing with my '93 Eldo. The cassette adapter I got from Radio Shack works fine as does another one I got elsewhere. Try a different adapter first.

If all else fails there are FM adapters available. Apparently you plug the adapter into your MP3 player then tune to a specific FM frequency to get the signal.

FWIW

YMMV

DFB

Back to this again. LOL. I did think to try other adapters but they all pop back out. I guess you are right KHE, they are not going to work. I did investigate some more and found those FM transmitters. There is one in the JC Whitney catalog and Radio Shack sells 3 different models, two of wich are not made by Radio Shack.( thats a pluss) They run from 30 to 50 bucks. Just like you said, you plug the unit into the transmitter and tune to it on the car stereo. It sounds pretty good. I will try one soon..