CaddyInfo Cadillac Forum

Steering?

Bob_Caddy

Hi! The last few days I have noticed that my caddy has been steering to the right ever so slightly. I was just checking to make sure this isn't going to turn into a major problem like some stuf does on these cars. If so what would it be or do I simply just have to get my wheels balanced or whatever? I am new to owning a used car and never really payed much attention to the maintenance of my previous cars. I just changed the coolant last week. Thanks for you input!

I have had the car for a few months so it would have to be at least 4 months since. Is that the only possible problem because I will probably take it in tomorrow for re-alignment.

Make sure that your air pressure is at spec front and rear....a low tire will cause a slight pull

One more thing, realize that the crown of the road can cause you to drift left when you are on the left and drift right when you are on the right.... Try driving in the right lane and see if it still pulls left....

The caliper slides on pins that are greased and sealed by rubber boots. If the pins dry out and rust, brake pressure will not be released when the brake pedal is released. Somewhat like a ratchet mechanism.

The caliper slides on pins that are greased and sealed by rubber boots. If the pins dry out and rust, brake pressure will not be released when the brake pedal is released. Somewhat like a ratchet mechanism.

What would have to be done to fix a problem such as that?

What would have to be done to fix a problem such as that?

After you drive a while tomorrow stick your nose in your wheel well on the left front and smell, if you smell a burning, asbestos smell its an indication that your caliper froze "ON"...meaning that its partially braking and not releasing, if that is happening a front brake job with special attention to the sliders is required...